History of ECUST

In October, 1952  East China Institute of Chemical Technology was founded with the approval of the central government. It was the first single-subject chemical institute in China and was formed through the consolidation of the chemical departments of Jiaotong University, Aurora University, Utopia University, Soochou University and Jiangnan University. The institute was first located on 195Zhengfa Rd, Jiangwan District in Shanghai, the campus of the former School of Science of Tongji University. Professor Zhang Jiangshu, a distinguished educator and highly accomplished chemist, was appointed as the President of the institute.


In July, 1954  Moved to the Meilong District. The campus had 38500 m2 in building space for classrooms, offices, and dormitories.


In November, 1956  Received permission to admit graduate students. Simultaneously began to enroll international students.


In October, 1960  Promoted to one of the national key universities of the Ministry of Higher Education.


In January, 1965  The institute, Beijing University, Tsinghua University and Nanjing University were the four key universities ordered by the government to build branch campuses in the hinterland of China. The institute’s southwest branch was established in Zigong, Sichuan Province.


In April, 1972  Began admitting students from workers, peasants, and soldiers .


In December,  1977  Began admitting regular undergraduates and postgraduates again with the resumption of the National College Entrance Examination.


In November, 1981  By the authority of the State Department, the university began acceptingdoctoral students in Chemical Engineering and four other disciplines.


In November, 1985  Established the first batch of research stations that offer postdoctoral fellowships: Chemical Engineering Postdoc Station and Industrial Chemistry Postdoc Station.


In February, 1993  The National Ministry of Education approved the renaming of the university as the East China University of Science and Technology (ECUST).


In June, 1996  Was selected as one of the national 211 Project universities.


In June, 2000  Started running the Graduate School, which was formally established later in June 2004.


In March, 2002  As one of the experimental institutes for modern long-distance education approved by the Ministry of Education, the School of Online Education of ECUST was established at ECUST.


In December, 2005  ECUST Science Park was established.


In February, 2006  The university began enrollment of MPA students.


In November, 2006  The School of International Education was established.


In July, 2007  The new campus at Fengxian was put into use.


In October, 2008 “Clean and Efficient Use of Coal and Key technologies of Petrochemical Industry” was included in the national “985 Project Innovation Platform”.


In September, 2009  The first EMBA opening ceremony was held.


In December, 2013  Chemical Engineering and Process Technology is certified by the American ABET (Accredition Board of Engineering and Technology).


In December, 2014  Tu Shandong’s project “Design, Manufacture and Maintenance of Important Pressure Vessels under Extreme Conditions” won the first prize of National Science and Technology Progress Award.


In March, 2015  Du Huifang and Qu Jingping were transferred to the school as the party secretary and principal.


In July, 2017  The three disciplines of chemistry, materials science and engineering, chemical engineering and technology have been listed in the “Double-First class”( first-class disciplines) construction plan.


In October, 2017  Feringa Joint Research Center for Nobel Prize Scientists was establised, named after Professor Bernard L. Feringa, 2016 Nobel laureate in Chemistry.  


In July, 2019  Based on the agreement signed by our university and University of Huddersfield, Confucius Institute of Science and Technology Innovation was founded at the University of Huddersfield. It is the world’s first Confucius institute to theme innovation in science and technology.


In January , 2020  International Academy of Engineers for Excellence was established.


In December, 2020  Xuan Fuzhen was appointed president of EAST China University of Science and Technology by the Ministry of Education P.R.China.

East China University Of Science And Technology Shanghai, China Meilong Road 130, 200237